Latest News:

Political News

Congress announces 194 Lok Sabha candidates, including 4 from Punjab

March 9, 2014 | By

Patiala, Punjab (March 8, 2014): It is learnt that the Congress party today released its first list of 194 for upcoming Lok Sabha Polls 2014.

Congress has announced 4 candidates from Punjab. Praneet Kaur has been re-announced from Patiala constituency. Ravneet Singh Bittu shall contest from Anandpur Sahib and Vijay Inder Singla shall retry his luck from Sangrur. All three are sitting MPs from their respective constituencies. Congress shall field Harminder Singh Gill from Khadoor Sahib constituency.

The decision on Bathinda and Faridkot seats will be announced after the Congress finalizes its seat arrangement with Manpreet Badal of the PPP and the CPI in Punjab.

As per media reports the Congress leadership is also persuading Punjab Congress chief Partap Singh Bajwa to contest his sitting Lok Sabha seat from Gurdaspur though he is said to be reluctant.

“We are trying to persuade Bajwa to contest. We can field him from another seat if he is uncomfortable from Gurdaspur,” a top party source reportedly told The Tribune (TT).

Ludhiana, where Information Minister Manish Tewari is the sitting MP, is among the seats where a decision is pending along with Ferozepur, Jalandhar, Fatehgarh Saheb and Hoshiarpur.

As per certain media reports it’s unlikely that the Congress party shall rename sitting MP Santosh Choudhary from Hoshiarpur seat.

Related Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply