Latest News:

General News

Final results for DSGMC nearing – Badals bag 34 seats; Sarnas won only 6; Result awaited on 5 seats

January 30, 2013 | By

New Delhi, India (January 30, 2012): Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal) or the Badal Dal has reportedly swept the Delhi Sikh Gurudwara Management Committee (DSGMC) elections by winning 34 seats.

Parkash Badal and Sukhbir Badal

SAD (Badal) led by Punjab CM Parkash Singh Badal and his son Sukhbir Singh Badal, who is also Deputy Chief Minister of Punjab, was declared winner in 34 seats out of the total results available for 41 constituencies, while SAD-Delhi of Paramjit Singh Sarna could bag only seat 6.

Meanwhile, Paramjeet Singh Sarna the main opponent of the Badal Dal, was defeated by SAD-Badal candidate Manjinder Singh Sirsa from the Punjabi Bagh ward. While Badal loyalist Manjit Singh GK was declared winner from Greater Kailash ward.

Elections to DSGMC, a statutory body responsible for controll of historic Sikh Gurudwaras in Delhi, was held on January 27, 2013 and a total of 265 candidates were in the fray out of which four were women.

Other than SAD (Delhi) and SAD (Badal), Kendriya Guru Singh Sabha and Dashmesh Seva Society are also fighting the election.

DSGMC, an autonomous organisation, comprises of 51 members out of which 46 are elected by polling while five others are nominated.

Around 42 per cent voters out of 4.12 lakh registered voters had cast their votes in the elections.

As per reports both Parkash Singh Badal and Sukhbir Singh Badal has thanked to the voters for the victory and Paramjeet Singh Sarna has reportedly accepted the poll verdict.

To Get Sikh Siyasat News Alerts via WhatsApp:

(1) Save Our WhatsApp Number 0091-855-606-7689 to your phone contacts; and
(2) Send us Your Name via WhatsApp. Click Here to Send WhatsApp Message Now.

Sikh Siyasat is on Telegram Now. Subscribe to our Telegram Channel

Leave a Reply