Latest News:

Political News

Mann Dal gears up for Dhuri bypolls; List of 4 ticket asparants sent to party high command

February 25, 2015 | By

Sangrur: Shiromani Akali Dal Amrtisar (Mann) led by former MP S. Simran Jeet Singh Mann has announced to contest Dhuri bypoll. Party leaders, including district presidents, held a meeting at Sangrur on February 23. The meeting was presided over by former MP and party vice president Dhian Singh Mand.

Dhian Singh Mand reportedly informed the meeting about party’s decision to contest Punjab assembly bypoll from Dhuri constituency.

S. Dhian Singh Mand and others

S. Dhian Singh Mand and others

The seat had fell vacant after resignation of Congress MLA Arvind Khanna in January. Arvind Khanna, a close associate of former Punjab chief minister Capt Amarinder Singh, also quit the party and announced that he had left active politics. The bypoll has to be conducted within six months of the seat falling vacant.

Dhian Singh Mand said that names possible party candidates were discussed in the meeting and a list with four names – SGPC member Surjeet Singh Kaalaboola, Sharanjeet Kaur Qilahakima, Bahadur Singh Bhasaur and Karnail Singh Narike was sent to the party high command. He said that the high command would make announcement of party candidate in coming days.

He said that te party has formed a 11 member campaign committee led by SAD (A) district president Harjit Singh to take care of Dhuri bypoll campaigning.

To Get Sikh Siyasat News Alerts via WhatsApp:

(1) Save Our WhatsApp Number 0091-855-606-7689 to your phone contacts; and
(2) Send us Your Name via WhatsApp. Click Here to Send WhatsApp Message Now.

Sikh Siyasat is on Telegram Now. Subscribe to our Telegram Channel

Related Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply