Latest News:

Political News

Rajya Sabha Election: All 5 candidates from Punjab elected unopposed

March 15, 2016 | By

Chandigarh: All five candidates who had filed nominations for the March 21 Rajya Sabha elections from Punjab were elected unopposed to the Upper House of the Indian Parliament yesterday.

Senior Badal Dal leaders Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa and Naresh Gujral, who were already representing the Shiromani Akali Dal in the Rajya Sabha, were re-elected.

[File Photos]

[File Photos]

The Congress would be represented by new faces –former PPCC presidents Partap Singh Bajwa and Shamsher Singh Dullo – in the Upper House. In the previous term, Ashwani Kumar and Manohar Singh Gill, former Union ministers, were representing the state Congress in the Rajya Sabha.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate, former Amritsar Mayor Shwet Malik, has also been elected unopposed. Earlier, the Punjab BJP was represented by Avinash Rai Khanna in the Rajya Sabha.

To Get Sikh Siyasat News Alerts via WhatsApp:

(1) Save Our WhatsApp Number 0091-855-606-7689 to your phone contacts; and
(2) Send us Your Name via WhatsApp. Click Here to Send WhatsApp Message Now.

Sikh Siyasat is on Telegram Now. Subscribe to our Telegram Channel

Related Topics: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply