Latest News:

Political News

Sikh faces fielded into Delhi battle by BJP and Congress

February 8, 2015 | By

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded two Sikh candidates for Delhi Assembly elections. Besides this there are three Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal) candidates that are contesting Delhi elections on BJP symbols.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s Sikh faces for the Delhi Assembly election:

RP Singh | Constituency: Rajendra Nagar: RP Singh was elected as MLA in 2013. He is BJP’s India level secretary and is also part of party chief Amit Shah’s team. He is also close to senior BJP leader and Union finance minister Arun Jaitley.

MS Dhir | Consitutency: Jangpura: MS Dhir went from the SAD (Badal) to the Aam Aadmi Party in 2013; won and became Vidhan Sabha speaker; joined the BJP recently.

Sikh faces fielded by the Congress party:

The Congress party has fielded three Sikh candidates for Delhi Assembly elections.

Prahlad Singh Sawhney | Consitutency: Chandni Chowk: Four-time MLA who has been winning due to significant Muslim support even as the seat does not have much Sikh population.

Tarwinder Singh Marwah | Consitutency: Jangpura: Remained MLA for 15 years and was also a chief parliamentary secretary in the Sheila Dikshit government. At present an executive member of the DSGMC; also has his own party called Kendri Guru Singh Sabha Party.

Surinder Pal Singh Bittu | Consitutency: Timarpur: A protégé of senior Congress leader Jagdish Tytler, who is accused in 1984 genocide, he remained MLA from 2008 to 2013.

To Get Sikh Siyasat News Alerts via WhatsApp:

(1) Save Our WhatsApp Number 0091-855-606-7689 to your phone contacts; and
(2) Send us Your Name via WhatsApp. Click Here to Send WhatsApp Message Now.

Sikh Siyasat is on Telegram Now. Subscribe to our Telegram Channel

Related Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply