Latest News:

Arun Jaitley

Cakewalk turned into nightmare for Arun Jaitley as BJP let him down, Badals failed to deliver

Amritsar, Punjab (May 18, 2104): As the saffron euphoria captures the country, Amritsar is one place where the leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as well as Shiomani Akali Dal (Badal) are facing a major embarrassment, with senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley getting knocked down by his Congress rival Capt Amarinder Singh by a margin of over 1 lakh votes.

Sukhbir Badal, Bikram Majithia, Narindra Modi, Parkash Singh Badal and Raj Nath Singh during Jagraon Rally [February 23, 2014]

SAD (Badal) may not enjoy clout in BJP government

Chandigarh/ Punjab (May 18, 2014): As part of the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), the Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal) may not have the same political clout it enjoyed during the Vajpayee government.

Arun Jaitley was defeated from 7 of 9 Assembly segments; Jaitley’s defeat hit Bikram Majithia’s image

Amritsar, Punjab (May 17, 2014): What seemed to be a close fight before polling turned out to be a one-sided contest with Congress candidate Amarinder Singh registering an win by a margin of more than 1 lakh votes. BJP's Arun Jaitly was defeated from seven of the total nine Assembly segments of the constituency.

Result declared on 2 seats on Punjab – Badal Dal 1; AAP 1; Leads: Badal Dal 3, INC 3, BJP 2, AAP 3

Ludhaina, Punjab (May 16, 2014): At the time of writing this news (at 17:40 hrs) results for two, out of 13 seats of Punjab, have already been declared. Badal Dal candidate Sher Singh Ghubaya has won Firozepur seat. Aam Aadmi Party Candidate Harinder Singh Khalsa has won Fatehgarh Sahib (SC reserved) seat.

« Previous Page