Latest News:

Sikh News

Yatra showcasing relics of Sikh Gurus begins in Punjab; Also check full route of Yatra

May 6, 2015 | By

Patiala, Punjab: Amid Gurbani recitation, Jaikaras and religious fervour, a procession carrying the relics of three Sikh Gurus started from Gurdwara Dukhniwaran Sahib, Patiala today.

The yatra will be carried for next two weeks in various cities of Punjab to enable people to have a closer look at them.

During this ‘Darshan Yatra’, the relics of the ‘Guru Sahiban’, including their clothes and weapons would be displayed in a bus.

Yatra of relics related to Sikh Gurus1The yatra was today flagged off by Jathedars of five Sikh Takhats, SGPC chief Avtar Singh Makkar, Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal and his son & deputy CM of Punjab Sukhbir Badal. It is being organised by the Punjab government and the Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC). SGPC has reportedly spent Rs, 2.25 crores on the bus.

The procession will culminate at Takht Sri Keshgarh Sahib in Anandpur Sahib town on May 20.

The relics relate to the Guru Hargobind Ji, Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji and Guru Gobind Singh Ji.

The holy relics of Guru Gobind Singh include three swords, a set of hair comb, a turban, a chola (robe), one whip, five arrows, one siri sahib (small three inch kirpan), a wooden spear, a small plain steel spear, one big sword and a sword with the word ‘Sat Sri Akal Guru Teg Bahadur’ the 1713 Samvat (1656) inscribed on the blade.

Of particular interest to the devotees and scholars would be a manuscript written in Guru Gobind Singh’s own hand.

Full route of Yatra:

May 6 – Patiala, Nabha, Bhawanigarh, Sangrur, Barnala
May 7 Barnala, Mansa, Maur, Talwandi Sabo
May 8 – Talwandi Sabo, Bathinda, Malout, Sri Muktsar Sahib
May 9 – Sri Muktsar Sahib, Kotkapura, Faridkot, Ferozepur, Wazidpur
May 10 – Wazidpur, Moga, Kot Isse Khan, Zira, Makhu, Harike
May 11 – Harike, Patti, Bhikhiwing, Jhabbal, Tarn Taran
May 12 – Tarn Taran, Jandiwala, Baba Bakala, Chowk Mehta, Amritsar
May 13 – halt at Amritsar
May 14 – Amritsar, Batala, Sri Hargobindpur, Kahnuwan, Chhota Ghallughara
May 15 – Chhota Ghallughara, Gurdaspur, Mulerian, Dasuya, Hoshiarpur
May 16 – Hoshiarpur, Tanda, Bhogpur, Kartarpur, Kapurthala, Sultanpur-Lodhi (via Talwandi Chaudharian)
May 17 – Sultanpur Lodhi, Malsian, Nakodar, Jalandhar, Phagwara
May 18 – Phagwara, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib
May 19 – Fatehgarh Sahib, Mohali, Kharar, Morinda, Chamkaur Sahib, Ropar
May 20 – Ropar, Sri Anandpur Sahib

To Get Sikh Siyasat News Alerts via WhatsApp:

(1) Save Our WhatsApp Number 0091-855-606-7689 to your phone contacts; and
(2) Send us Your Name via WhatsApp. Click Here to Send WhatsApp Message Now.

Sikh Siyasat is on Telegram Now. Subscribe to our Telegram Channel

Related Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply