Latest News:

Political News » Sikh News » Special News

Candidates Kick Campaign for Delhi Committee Polls

February 12, 2017 | By

NewDelhi: With over 2 weeks to go for the Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee  (DSGMC) elections, candidates have begun canvassing. They are concentrating on door-to-door meeting with the electorate.

On the one hand the incumbent SAD (Badal)  candidates are claiming their achievements, And on the other hand the opposition  Shiromani Akali Dal (Delhi) led by the Sarna brothers are pointing out  the Guru Harkishan Hospital issue, education issue, cancellation of admission in polytechnic institute, parking of Bangla Sahib Gurdwara and misuse of money donated by people in Gurdwaras, the English vernacular reported in its report.

Image for Representation Only.

The third major party Panthak Seva Dal that has support of the Aam Aadmi Party is  posing itself differently. It says it will do everything for the community if voted to the DSGMC, says the media reports.

The SAD (Badal) claims that because of the party for the first time in the history of the Sikhs, contribution of Baba Baghel Singh who had defeated the Mughals and Banda Singh  Bahadur who had established Sikh rule in Punjab were brought to the knowledge  of the world. A function was organised at Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium on the completion of 300 years of Banda Singh Bahadur and installation of his statue at Nabha House near Mandi House. Construction of 1984 Sikh Genocide memorial is another  achievement of the party, it claims.

In addition, increase in salary, implementation of the Sixth Pay Commission  recommendations in schools, service to flood victims (Sikh and non-Sikh) in Uttrakhand and Jammu and Kashmir were other works claimed to have been accomplished by the party.

Moreover it was maintained by the party that it (SAD Badal) also worked towards enhancing the compensation amount from Rs 3 lakh to Rs 5 lakh given to the Sikh Genocide  survivors.

As reported by the media the  main contenders in the Badal party are DSGMC president Manjit Singh (GK), general secretary Manjinder Singh Sirsa, Avtar Singh Hit, Tanwant Singh, MPS Chadha and Harmit Kalka.

In the Sarna party, the main contenders are Paramjit Singh Sarna, Bhajan Singh Walia, Harpal Singh Kochar, Gyan Singh and Prabhjeet Singh Jiti. In Panthak Seva Dal, Kartar Singh Kochar is a biggest name.

To Get Sikh Siyasat News Alerts via WhatsApp:

(1) Save Our WhatsApp Number 0091-855-606-7689 to your phone contacts; and
(2) Send us Your Name via WhatsApp. Click Here to Send WhatsApp Message Now.

Sikh Siyasat is on Telegram Now. Subscribe to our Telegram Channel

Related Topics: , , , ,

Leave a Reply