Latest News:

Sikh News

Gobind Singh Longowal elected as New SGPC chief; List of All Executive Committee Members

November 29, 2017 | By

Amritsar: Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal) leader Gobind Singh Longowal today Prof. Kirpal Singh Badungar as the president of Shiromani Gurdwara Prabhandak Committee (SGPC). Kirpal Singh Badungar was made SGPC chief in November last year after SAD (B) dropped out Avtar Singh Makkar.

Gobind Singh Longowal with other SGPC members | November 29, 2017 | Photo: Narinderpal Singh/ Sikh Siyasat News

Earlier today, the SAD (B) fielded Gobind Singh Longowal as its candidate while the ‘Panthic Front’ led by former SGPC General Secretary Sukhdev Singh Bhaur fielded Amrik Singh Shahpur for the post.

Gobind Singh Longowal — a former chairman of Sangrur district planning board — got 154 of 169 votes.

Amrik Singh Shahpur got 15 votes.

Amrik Singh Shahpur was included in the executive committee as every 13 members could propose induct get one member inducted into the Executive Committee.


Gobind Singh Longowal (President)

Raghujeet Singh Virk (Senior Vice President)

Harpal Singh Jalla (Junior Vice President)

Gurbachan Singh Karmuwal

Sajjan Singh Bajjumaan

Lakhmir Singh Arraiyanwala

Bibi Gurpreet Kaur

Hardev Singh Raungla

Gurtej Singh Dhadde (Bathinda)

Ravinder Singh Mukerian

Gurmeet Singh Booh

Gurmeet Singh Tirlokewala

Navtej Singh Kauni

Bhagwant Singh Sialka

Amrik Singh Shahpur

New SGPC cheif was declared Tankhaiya earlier this year:

It may be recalled here that Gobind Singh Longowal was declared Tankhaiya by SGPC appointed Jathedars for seeking votes from Dera Sauda Sirsa earlier this year. Two days before voting for Punjab Assembly elections, Dera Sacha Sauda had announced support for Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal) candidates (on Feb. 02, 2017). It was an SGPC committee that probed that how many Sikh politicians had asked Dera for votes during the elections. The three-member SGPC committee had submitted a list of 44 such politicians to Akal Takht. Gobind Singh Longowal, who contested from Sunam constituency on a SAD ticket but lost the election, was in that list. He was later awarded “Tankhah” for violating Akal Takht Sahib edict that was issued against Dera Sauda Sirsa in 2007.

This news was originally published on November 29, 2017 @ 2:45 pm. It was last edited and updated on November 30, 2017 @ 7:35 am.

To Get Sikh Siyasat News Alerts via WhatsApp:

(1) Save Our WhatsApp Number 0091-855-606-7689 to your phone contacts; and
(2) Send us Your Name via WhatsApp. Click Here to Send WhatsApp Message Now.

Sikh Siyasat is on Telegram Now. Subscribe to our Telegram Channel

Related Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply