Latest News:

Political News

Might of Modi rules over Governors: UP, Assam and Karnataka Governors resign; Yashwant Sinha, Ram Nayak and Vijay Malhotra in race

June 17, 2014 | By

Moga, Punjab (June 17, 2014): A day after Modi government asked governors of various states, who were appointed during UPA regime, to resign from their posts, three governors including UP, Assam and Karnataka resigned from their posts.

As per media reports, first of all BL Joshi sent his resign to President of India followed by JB Patnayak of Assam and HR Bharadwaj of Karnataka today. Others, who are allegedly pressurized to resign, are Kamla Beniwal of Gujarat, K Shankar Narayan of Maharashtra, Margret Alwa of Rajasthan, MK Narayanan of West Bengal, Sheila Dixit of Kerala and Dev Anand Kunwar of Tripura.

[File Photos]

[File Photos]

A governor can quite himself by resigning or he/she can be removed by president of India as proposed by Prime Minister of Inda.

Shiela is adamant to remain in the Raj Bhawan of Kerala but she did not react to the NDA’s move.

The trend of removing governor as power changes in centre was set by UPA itself as it removed many governors in 2004, who were appointed by NDA.

Amidst the debate on removing of governors by union government, the Supreme Court in its recent decision on a petition filed by a BJP MP ruled that the governors are not employees of the government and can’t be removed with the change of power.

After the removal of some governors, various BJP leaders including Yashwant Sinha, Ram Nayak, Murli Manohar Sharma, Lalji Dass Tandon, Kesri Nath Tripathi, VK Malhotra, Kalyan Singh, Shanta Kunar and BC Khanduri are in the race for governors post.

To Get Sikh Siyasat News Alerts via WhatsApp:

(1) Save Our WhatsApp Number 0091-855-606-7689 to your phone contacts; and
(2) Send us Your Name via WhatsApp. Click Here to Send WhatsApp Message Now.

Sikh Siyasat is on Telegram Now. Subscribe to our Telegram Channel

Related Topics: , , , ,

Leave a Reply