Latest News:

Political News

Bypolls Announced for 4 Assembly Seats in Punjab

September 21, 2019 | By

Chandigarh: The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced bypolls on 4 seats of Punjab state assembly. These seats include Phagwara (SC), Mukerian, Dakha and Jalalabad. Phagwara seat fell vacant after sitting MLA Som Nath was elected in MP. Similar is the case with Jalalabad seat as sitting MLA Sukhbir Singh Badal was elected as MP. Dakha seat had fell vacant after H S Phoolka resigned as MLA, whereas Mukerian seat fell vacant after the demised of Congress MLA Rajneesh Babbi.

Polling for these 4 seats will be held on October 21 and results will be announced after counting of votes on October 24.

Here is list of important election events:

Election Events Date

Date of Issue of Gazette Notification

23.09.2019 (MONDAY)

Last Date of Nominations

30.09.2019 (MONDAY)

Date for Scrutiny of Nominations

01.10.2019 (TUESDAY)

Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures

03.10.2019 (THURSDAY)

Date of Poll

21.10.2019 (MONDAY)

Date of Counting

24.10.2019 (THURSDAY)

Date before which election shall be completed

27.10.2019 (SUNDAY)

To Get Sikh Siyasat News Alerts via WhatsApp:

(1) Save Our WhatsApp Number 0091-855-606-7689 to your phone contacts; and
(2) Send us Your Name via WhatsApp. Click Here to Send WhatsApp Message Now.

Sikh Siyasat is on Telegram Now. Subscribe to our Telegram Channel

Related Topics: , , ,

Leave a Reply