Latest News:

Over Seas » Sikh News

Sikh MPs Tan Dhesi and Preet Kaur Gill Re-elected in UK Elections

December 13, 2019 | By

London: In general election held in England yesterday (December 12), two Sikh MPs who were seeking re-election have registered success.

S. Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi at Darbar Sahib, Amritsar | File Photo used for representational purpose only

Tanmanjit Singh Dhesi, who was elected as first Dastar wearing MP to the British Parliament in 2017 has won from his Slough constituency. Tan Dhesi secured 29,421 votes while his nearest contestant and Conservative candidate Kanwar Toor Gill got 15,781 votes. Slough is considered to be Labour stronghold.

Preet Kaur Gill [File Photo]

Similarly, first Sikh women MP in British Parliament, Preet Kaur Gill has won from Birmingham Edgbaston. She won 21,217 votes, fending off the Tory challenge of Alex Yip, with 15,603. Colin Green, of the Liberal Democrats, achieved 3,349 votes, followed by Phil Simpson, of the Green Party, with 1,112. David Wilks, of the Brexit Party, achieved 1,047 votes. Voters turnout was 61.7 per cent on this seat. Notably, Birmingham Edgbaston was once considered to be a safe Conservative seat, but it returned a Labour MP since 1997.

To Get Sikh Siyasat News Alerts via WhatsApp:

(1) Save Our WhatsApp Number 0091-855-606-7689 to your phone contacts; and
(2) Send us Your Name via WhatsApp. Click Here to Send WhatsApp Message Now.

Sikh Siyasat is on Telegram Now. Subscribe to our Telegram Channel

Related Topics: , , ,

Leave a Reply